Sunday, 22nd October, 2017
7:30pm @ The Hall, The Henrietta Barnett School, NW11 7BN


Jenny Lewisohn - viola

Haydn - String quartet in E maj Op. 54 No.3
Mozart - String quintet in G minor K.516
Puccini - Crisantemi
Dvorak - String quintet in E flat maj Op.97

Winners of the Royal Philharmonic Society award for Young British String Players and YCAT Finalists, the Ruisi Quartet has quickly established a reputation as one of the leading British quartets of its generation, delivering performances that are 'strikingly immediate, committed and direct' (Chichester Observer, 2014). Founded in 2012 by brothers Alessandro and Max, the quartet perform regularly throughout the UK and Europe, including leading venues such as the Wigmore Hall, Royal Albert Hall and Kings Place, and for 2014/15 were in residence at the Royal College of Music in London.

For the 2013/14 season the group were selected for the prestigious ‘ChamberStudio’ Mentorship programme at Kings Place, London. This allowed the quartet to work closely with mentor Simon Rowland-Jones, whilst also receiving masterclasses from some of the world’s most eminent chamber musicians. Most recently, the group have been lucky enough to work with Gábor Takács, Anthony Marwood, Levon Chilingirian, Pavel Fischer, James Boyd and Peter Cropper. They were also awarded a scholarship to attend the 2015 IMS Prussia Cove Masterclasses, where they had the great fortune to work with Ferenc Rados and Rita Wagner. In January 2016 the group were Quartet in Residence at the Wye Valley Chamber Music Festival, and in 2016 were selected as Tunnell Trust Award winners.

Recent highlights have included a tour in 2015 of Portugal and the Canary islands with the Kirker Music Festival at Sea, a live performance on BBC Radio 3 (March 2016) and the use of the Vuillaume 'Evangelist' instruments that were recently on short-term loan to the quartet. For 2017 they have been selected as CPG Young Artists and look forward to performances at Kettle's Yard, Cambridge and a tour of Scotland. The quartet are grateful for the long-term loan of a specially made set of matching instruments by Harris & Sheldon of London.

Jenny Lewisohn - viola

British violist Jenny Lewisohn completed her Bachelor of Music with highest honours and Masters of Music with Distinction from the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in 2014 where she was also awarded the prestigious Concert Recital Diploma. She won joint first prize at the Kenneth Page Foundation competition and is a member of the prize-winning Hieronymus Quartet. The quartet won the CAVATINA Intercollegiate String Quartet Competition as well as the Audience Prize. In 2014 they were selected for one of ChamberStudio’s three prestigious Mentorships. They are currently embarked upon a complete Beethoven quartet cycle for Music at Woodhouse.

Jenny has participated in solo masterclasses with Nobuko Imai, Tatjana Masurenko, Lars Anders Tomter and Hartmut Rohde amongst others. She regularly attends IMS Prussia Cove and Open Chamber Music and this October joins the Prussia Cove Tour which culminates at the Wigmore Hall.

Throughout the year Jenny performs with a rich variety of distinguished artists which has taken her around Europe and to South America. She is an artistic advisor and co-founder of the Marryat Players Chamber Music Festival which takes place each summer.